SUMMARY OF PUBLIC COMMENTS

Allowing Certain Minors to Receive Inpatient
Mental Health Treatment Without Parental Consent

Six comments were received regarding the policy options addressing the expansion of the authority

for minors to consent to their inpatient mental health treatment. Comments were submitted by:

Mr. Richard J. Bonnie, Ph.D., Director, Institute of Law, Psychiatry, and Public Policy at the

University of Virginia
Ms. Jacquelin McKisson, parent

Ms. Claire Guthrie Gastanaga, Executive Director, American Civil Liberties Union of

Virginia (ACLU-VA)

Ms. Colleen Miller, Executive Director, diSABILITY Law Center of Virginia (dLCV)
Ms. Mira Signer, Executive Director, National Alliance for the Mentally 1l of Virginia

(NAMI-VA)

Ms. Jennifer Faison, Executive Director, Virginia Association of Community Services

Boards (VACSB)

Policy Options

Support

16.1 to establish a process by which a minor, whose
parent(s)/guardian(s) will not consent to his/her
voluntary inpatient mental health treatment, may
request and receive such treatment with the approval
of a clinician and/or evaluator who has examined and
found the minor to be in need of and likely to benefit
from the requested treatment.

1 | Take no action. NAMI-VA primary option supported.
VACSB primary option supported.

2 | Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title | Ms. McKisson at age 16 with provisions
16.1 to provide minors with the same rights and similar to Maryland’s current law; most
responsibilities as an adult in terms of consenting to | importantly that the parent is not
voluntary inpatient mental health treatment beginning | fesponsible for the cost of treatment.
at age: = 14 years = 16 years ACLU-VA atage 14

= 15years = 17 years dLCV at age of 14
3 | Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title | Mr. Bonnie reported that his review of

civil commitment of juveniles led him to
the conclusion that self-admission requests
by minors “occur frequently enough
(~125/year) to warrant statutory guidance.”

NAMI-VA open to option “as long as
parents’ input is solicited and included in
the process.”

VACSB, if action is to be taken, may
support option if an “independent™
clinician and/or evaluator must examine
the minor and approve of his/her
treatment.
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Policy Options

Support

4

Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title
16.1 to allow, when consent by his/her
parent(s)/guardian(s) is not given, a minor to access
the evaluation process of the local community
services board in order to receive approval for
voluntary inpatient mental health treatment.

NAMI-VA open to option “as long as
parents’ input is solicited and included in
the process.”

Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title
16.1to allow, when consent by his/her
parent(s)/guardian(s) is not given, a minor to petition
the juvenile court in order to be examined and receive
authorization for voluntary inpatient mental health
treatment.

Include the following provisions in introduced
legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title 16.1 to
address:

A. Parental Objection — provide opportunity to
consider objections, by the parent(s)/guardian(s), to
the minor’s voluntary inpatient mental health
treatment.

B. Admission criteria — establish the clinical criteria,
for allowing the minor’s admission for voluntary
inpatient mental health treatment without the
consent by his/her parent(s)/guardian(s), to be the
current inpatient admission standards such as those
established by the American Academy of Child and
Adolescent Psychiatry

C. Other evaluation criteria — establish criteria to
determine that minor has the capacity to consent and
is clinically suitable for the voluntary mental health
treatment that will be provided.

D. Liability Relief — add language that providers are
not liable for damages if a minor misrepresents
himself except for damages resulting from
negligence or willful misconduct.

E. Limitations on inpatient stays — establish limitations
on the number of days a minor may be treated in the
inpatient facility on a voluntary basis and/or the
number of times the minor may be admitted without
the consent of the parent(s)/guardian(s).

F. Financial responsibility — as needed, add language
regarding mental health parity provisions, financial
liability of parent(s)/guardian(s), and other payment
guidelines.

G. Confidentiality — determine and denote
requirements in order to comply with Health
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
(HIPAA) privacy provisions, such as sharing of
treatment or health-insurance payment information
with parent(s)/guardian(s).

Mr. Bonnie supports 6A in
recommending that the facility endeavor to
notify the parents within 24 hours of the
minor’s admission and 6C that a
“qualified independent evaluator” as
defined in Code § 16.1-336 examine and
recommend inpatient treatment.

Ms. McKisson recommends that 6F
include that the “parent is not liable for
any costs of the treatment of the
minor....There needs to be some financial
provision in the law....Either the local
CSB needs to step-in and make payment,
the hospital has to voluntarily agree to
waive the payment, VA Medicaid rules for
long-term care need to be modified to
accept children with a ‘higher’ income or
without respect to income, and/or some
state budget line needs to be added to
provide ‘gap’/financial coverage.”
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Comment Excerpts

Mr. Richard Bonnie discussed his comments during the September 9" meeting of JCHC’s
Behavioral Health Care Subcommittee. As noted previously, Mr. Bonnie supported establishing
additional evaluation criteria (Option 6C) in recommending that a “qualified independent evaluator”
as defined in Code 8 16.1-336 examine and recommend inpatient treatment.

Code of Virginia § 16.1-336

“*Qualified evaluator’ means a psychiatrist or a psychologist licensed in Virginia by either the Board
of Medicine or the Board of Psychology, or if such psychiatrist or psychologist is unavailable, (i) any
mental health professional licensed in Virginia through the Department of Health Professions as a
clinical social worker, professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, psychiatric nurse
practitioner, or clinical nurse specialist, or (ii) any mental health professional employed by a
community services board. All qualified evaluators shall (a) be skilled in the diagnosis and treatment
of mental illness in minors, (b) be familiar with the provisions of this article, and (c) have completed a
certification program approved by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services.
The qualified evaluator shall (1) not be related by blood, marriage, or adoption to, or is not the legal
guardian of, the minor being evaluated, (2) not be responsible for treating the minor, (3) have no
financial interest in the admission or treatment of the minor, (4) have no investment interest in the
facility detaining or admitting the minor under this article, and (5) except for employees of state
hospitals, the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and community services boards, not be employed
by the facility.”

Ms. Jacquelin McKisson, in support of Policy Option 2, wrote in part:

“I believe the code that most correctly captures how this process should be administered in the
Commonwealth of Virginia is that which currently exists in Maryland: 16 Md. Code Ann., Health-
Gen. 810-609 Mental health.Md. Code Ann., Health-Gen. §20-104.

e Capacity as an adult to consent.

o Application for voluntary admission of an individual to a facility may be made if the individual is
16 years old or older. (***Strongly object to anything less than 16 y.o. Simply too young for a child
to make a decision of this magnitude on his/her own).

e The individual must understand the nature of the request; is able to give continuous assent to
retention by the facility; and is able to ask for release.

e A minor has the same capacity as an adult to consent to consultation, diagnosis, and treatment of a
mental or emotional disorder by a physician, psychologist, or a clinic.

e The capacity of a minor to consent to treatment does not include the capacity to refuse treatment for
which a parent has given consent. (***This is key).

e The physician heading the treatment team decides whether a parent of the minor should receive
information about treatment. (***Only in cases where the child self-admits without parental
consent. In cases of parental consent, and when parents are assuming financial responsibility,
parent must be given information about their child.)

e The parent is not liable for any costs of the treatment of the minor. (***This is critical.)

My biggest comment is that parent should not be FORCED to assume payment for the costs of
treatment if/when they do not give consent. The cost of MH treatment can be financially
catastrophic, and long-term inpatient/residential treatment can bankrupt a family.”

Ms. Claire Guthrie Gastanaga commenting on the behalf of ACLU-VA wrote in part:

“I write on behalf of the American Civil Liberties Union of Virginia and our more than 10,000
members and supporters to express our support for policy changes that will result in changing the
Code of Virginia to allow minors 14 or older (mature minors) to consent to voluntary inpatient
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psychiatric treatment without requiring the consent of the minor’s parent. The existing statute
concerning the authority of minors to consent to surgical and medical treatment already allows all
minors to independently consent to outpatient psychiatric treatment. As stated in section 54.1-
2969E.4 of the Code of Virginia, a minor shall be deemed an adult for the purpose of consenting to
medical or health services needed in the case of outpatient care, treatment or rehabilitation for mental
illness or emotional disturbance. Amending the code to further allow mature minors to make their
own decisions about inpatient psychiatric treatment will give them an opportunity to play a
meaningful role in choosing the right treatment for them, a role that experts have shown they are able
to play and which can be critical to their recovery....

The ability of mature minors to make their own decisions about medical treatment and the
importance of allowing them to play a key role in that treatment has been well documented by
numerous medical and legal experts. Virginia should follow the advice of experts and its own
policies related to outpatient psychiatric treatment and amend the code to reflect the capacity of
mature minors to make these important decisions and make provisions for allowing these minors to
also consent to inpatient psychiatric treatment without necessitating parental consent.”

Ms. Colleen Miller on the behalf of the disSABILITY Law Center of Virginia wrote in part:

“The disability Law Center of Virginia (ALCV) recommends that the Commission support legislation
to amend Code § 16.1-338, to allow for a minor 14 years of age or older to consent for voluntary
inpatient mental health treatment without the consent of the minor’s parent, or to continue treatment,
if they so choose, if a parent revokes consent during the course of hospitalization. (Option 2).

The Commission’s study demonstrates the need for this amendment. Currently, youth are unable to
receive treatment if their parent or guardian objects, regardless of the reason for the objection. In our
experience, parents may object to treatment for a variety of reasons, including denial or disbelief,
cost, or stigma associated with acute inpatient care and mental illness. In addition to these potential
barriers to services for youth, dLCV often encounters situations in which children or youth do not
receive the services they need as a result of parental disengagement or the parent’s own mental health
needs overcoming their ability to successfully advocate for their children.

Current law does not allow for youth in Virginia to access inpatient mental health treatment over
parental objection without the involvement of the judicial system or Child Protective Services. The
proposed amendment will reinforce best practices of client-centered involvement and choice in
treatment, and of empowering individuals. It will most certainly result in better outcomes from
mental health services. Additionally, this amendment will allow for increased access to services and
supports for youth with serious mental illness.”

Ms. Jennifer Faison commenting on behalf of VACSB indicated Option 1 is the primary option
supported “largely based on...reluctance to recommend changing Virginia’s code based on an
exceedingly rare occurance. We feel that there are options within the current code that allow for a
minor to access residential treatment, regardless of whether or not a parent consents, and therefore
support taking no action with regards to proposing legislation.

However, if the JCHC feels it must move forward with legislation, VACSB recommends...[an]
amended version of Policy Option 3 [that would provide for an independent evaluation]....Providing
an independent evaluation ensures a conflict-free treatment process for any minor who may request
further assessment.”
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